XXXII32The Ancient & Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry traces its origins to early 18th century France. The term “Scottish” is believed to come from those Scottish Masons who fled to France during and following the Jacobite Rebellion. Many of the earliest degrees in the Rite were believed to have come from Scotland.

Like all good things, it left France and came to America were it was perfected and grew to its current form in Charleston, South Carolina in 1801.

The Scottish Rite is often referred to as the University of Freemasonry. The twenty-nine degrees of this Rite amplify those of the Blue Lodge by offering a broader and deeper geographic, historical, philosophical and spiritual connotation drawn from the greatest teachings of antiquity.

The Scottish Rite in the U.S. is divided into two jurisdictions. The Supreme Council of the Ancient & Accepted Scottish Rite for the Southern Masonic Jurisdiction is located in Washington, D.C., at the House of the Temple, one of the most impressive Masonic structures in the world. It is sovereign over all Scottish Rites in the 35 states south of the Ohio and west of the Mississippi Rivers. The other 15 states are part of the Northern Masonic Jurisdiction headquartered in Lexington, Massachusetts.

Each state is referred to as an Orient. Individual Scottish Rites, known as Valleys, are located in cities across the state. The first three degrees of the Scottish Rite are conferred in the Symbolic, or Blue Lodge. The other degrees are organized as follows:


Lodge of Perfection

4th -Secret Master

5th – Perfect Master

6th – Confidential Secretary

7th – Provost & Judge

8th – Intendant of the Building

9th – Elu of the Nine

10th – Elu of the Fifteen

11th – Elu of the Twelve

12th – Master Architect

13th – Royal Arch of Solomon

14th – Perfect Elu


Chapter of Rose Croix

15th – Knight of the East

16th – Prince of Jerusalem

17th – Knight of the East & West

18th – Knight Rose Croix


Council of Kadosh

19th – Grand Pontiff

20th – Master of the Symbolic Lodge

21st – Noachite or Prussian Knight

22nd – Knight of the Royal Axe

23rd – Chief of the Tabernacle

24th – Prince of the Tabernacle

25th – Knight of the Brazen Serpent

26th – Prince of Mercy

27th – Knight Commander of the Temple

28th – Knight of the Sun

29th – Knight of St. Andrew

30th – Knight of Kadosh Consistory



31st – Inspector Inquisitor

32nd – Master of the Royal Secret

The 33rd Degree is reserved for those members who have been recognized for outstanding service to Masonry and their community.